Duplicates in Filezilla after Importing Sites – Solution

In our office, we use Filezilla as the FTP client of our choice. We often share our “Site Settings” with each other – since we all manage the same sites – so we don’t have to ask “Can I get an FTP account for X? What’s the password for Y?” It might not be the best way of working, but it works for us.

During our latest ‘exchange’, however, my colleague pointed out that there were duplicates in her overview. Deleting all sites and doing a new import of the Site Manager only made things worse. And worse.

Fortunately, there’s a solution for this problem, and of course we are sharing it with you.  The trick is in deleting sitemanager.xml before importing the sites.

For Windows Users

2013 06 05 10 03 04

  • Go to Start, and type %appdata% in the search box at the bottom. Click the “Roaming” folder that appears
  • If you’re still using XP Go to Start > Run and enter the same. 

  • Open the Filezilla folder and delete the file sitemanager.xml

For Mac Users

If you are using a Mac, you can delete the file in the terminal.

  • Open your Terminal
  • Enter the following: cd $HOME/.filezilla
  • Enter the following: rm sitemanager.xml

For everyone

Now that that’s done, you can start Filezilla again and import the Sitemanager configuration. No more duplicates, rejoice!

Advertisements